Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community

Byron Shire Council acknowledges the Traditional Owners of this land, the Arakwal people, the Minjungbal people and the Widjabul people of the Bundjalung Nation, and pay our respects to elders past and present.

Byron Shire Council is committed to promoting mutual respect and harmony between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in the Shire.

In April 2019 the Federal Court recognised the Native Title of the Bundjalung of Byron Bay Arakwal People.