EPA licenses

In NSW, discharge of treated wastewater is regulated by the Environment Protection Authority (EPA), which issues environment protection licences (EPL) under the provisions of the Protection of the Environment Operations Act 1997 (POEO Act).

Our wastewater system comprises four schemes which operate under separate licences, outlined in the table below. The EPLs specify discharge conditions and detail monitoring and reporting requirements for the treatment plants.

EPA-Licence-Annual-Return-Brunswick-Valley(PDF, 205KB)

EPA licence annual return Bangalow(PDF, 195KB)

 EPA licence annual return Byron Bay(PDF, 209KB)

 EPA licence annual return Ocean Shores(PDF, 202KB)

Wastewater system Environment Protection licence no.
Byron Bay STP EPL 3404
Brunswick Valley STP EPL 13266
Bangalow STP EPL 2522
Ocean Shores EPL 784


Each licence requires an annual report to be submitted for the operation of the treatment plant for the preceding 12 months.