Where can I park in the Byron Shire?

Find information and maps showing free and pay parking locations across the Byron Shire.

Pay parking operates in Byron Bay between 9am to 6pm, seven days a week including public holidays. See below for more details.

Residents and visitors can use the PayStay app to search for parking spaces by time limit and location.


Use our online mapping tool to find mobility parking spaces. 

  1. Open the layers tab.
  2. Select Community
  3.  Select Parking Byron Bay.

If you have a mobility parking permit it is free to park in our pay parking areas.

Visit the Transport for NSW website to find out more about how to apply for a mobility parking permits.


Pay parking operates in Byron Bay between 9am to 6pm, seven days a week including public holidays. You must pay to park in the following areas: 

  • Byron Bay central business district
  • Council-operated car parks
  • Parts of Wategos.

Byron Shire residents, ratepayers and workers can buy an annual parking permit that exempts them from paying parking fees.

Maps showing free and pay parking spaces, plus time limits

All day pay parking is available at:

  • Clarkes Beach Car Park
  • Jonson Street, south of Kingsley Street
  • Lawson Street, east of Middleton St
  • Sections of Shirley St, Wordsworth St, Middleton St, and Marvell St. 

Council-operated car parks

  • Main Beach car park  has 95 parking spaces, including five mobility spaces. 
  • Lawson St North car park has 135 parking spaces including three mobility spaces.
  • Lawson St South car park has 74 parking spaces, including one mobility space.
  • Clarkes Beach car park has 90 parking spaces, including two mobility spaces. 

Council car parks are closed between 1am to 5am.

Butler St Reserve 

Butler St Reserve is currently closed. View a Map of alternative free parking(PDF, 637KB)

Primary school parking

  • School visitors: All day parking is available in Tennyson Street at no cost. During pickup and drop off times, there are free 30-minute periods to assist parents and carers from 8am to 10am and 2pm to 4pm.
  • School staff: Teachers and staff members at Byron Bay Public School and Byron Community Primary School may apply for an Interim permit to receive exemptions to time limits in specific streets surrounding their school, conditions apply.

View the current parking scheme for Bangalow.

Bangalow Parking Time Limit Map(PDF, 105KB)


View current parking time limits for Brunswick Heads.

Brunswick Heads Parking Time Limit Map(PDF, 87KB)

There will be changes to parking time limits in Brunswick Heads in December 2021 

A map of the updated time limits will be available soon.

View the current parking scheme for Mullumbimby.

Mullumbimby Parking Time Limit Map(PDF, 40KB)

The following carparks are National Parks carparks.

  • Cape Byron Lighthouse
  • Captain Cook Lookout
  • Cosy Corner
  • The Pass.

Pay parking permits do not cover National Park Carparks. Separate parking fees apply.