Heritage Panel

The purpose of the Heritage Panel is to provide support and advice to Council on heritage matters. 

The Panel can: 

  • Assist Council in the development of policies and strategies including the preparation of a Heritage Strategy and the management of natural and cultural heritage generally in the Byron Shire. 

  • Advise Council staff, the Heritage Adviser and the Council on matters relating to the ongoing implementation of the Heritage Strategy (once completed).

  • Assist Council to procure and allocate funding assistance and to recommend projects for which funding should be sought in line with the Heritage Strategy (once completed).

  • Provide access to the general community to distribute information and public input into heritage management such as nominating additional properties for assessment of heritage significance.

  • Advise Council on a range of heritage-related matters which are of interest to the community, in particular, providing expertise, local knowledge and guidance on heritage matters and heritage assessments.



  • Cr Cameron
  • Cr Hunter
  • Cr Martin

Historical Society Members:

  • Brunswick Valley/Mullumbimby Historical Society - Mr Chris Cooney 
  • Bangalow Historical Society - Mr Don Osborne
  • Byron Bay Historical Society - Mr Donald Maughan

1 representative each from:

  • the Bundjalung of Byron Bay Aboriginal Corporation (Arakwal) - Sharon Sloane 
  • Tweed Byron Local Aboriginal Council - Leweena Williams
  • Jali Aboriginal Land Council - Mr Mik Smith

Community Representatives:

  • Janet Kneale
  • Joe Vescio

Meeting Dates

  • 12 March 2020
  • 11 June 2020
  • 10 September 2020

View the Minutes from the Heritage Panel.