Local Aboriginal Land Councils

The purpose of Local Aboriginal Land Councils is to improve, protect and foster the best interests of all Aboriginal people in the local area. 

There are three Local Aboriginal Land Councils whose boundaries overlap with the Byron Shire:

  • Tweed Byron LALC situated in Tweed Heads.
  • Jali LALC situated in Ballina.
  • Ngulingah LALC situated in Lismore.

Local Aboriginal Land Councils have a right to be informed in the planning, protection and preservation of cultural sites and areas under the NSW Aboriginal Land Rights Act on land within their boundaries.

Local Aboriginal Land Council services include housing, legal affairs, employment, training and property acquisition and management.

Tweed Byron Local Aboriginal Land Council

21/25 Ourimbah Road, Tweed Heads, NSW 2485
Phone: 07 5536 1763
Email:  admin@tblalc.com

Jali Local Aboriginal Land Council

129 Tamar St, Ballina, NSW 2478
Phone: 02 6686 7055
Email:   reception@jalilalc.com.au

Ngulingah Local Aboriginal Land Council

53 Conway Street, Lismore, NSW 2480
Phone:  02 6621 5541
Email:   reception@ngulingah.org.au 

NSW Aboriginal Land Council

The NSW Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) is the State’s peak representative body in Aboriginal Affairs, and aims to protect the interests and further the aspirations of its members and the broader Aboriginal community.

The NSW Aboriginal Land Rights Act gives NSWALC the mandate to provide for the development of land rights for Aboriginal people in NSW, in conjunction with a network of Local Aboriginal Land Councils. NSWALC also acts as an advisor to, and negotiates with, Governments, and other stakeholders, to ensure the preservation of Aboriginal land rights.