Skip to Navigation

Surf Life Saving Services in Byron Shire

Surf Life Saving Services in Byron Shire

Council in conjunction with Cape Byron Headland Trust and the Australia Life Guard Service provides a beach surf life saving services to specific beaches within Byron Shire Council during the NSW and Queensland School Holidays.

Beach patrols are also provided by Surf Life Saving Volunteers at Brunswick Heads and Byron Bay Main Beach on weekends and Public Holidays from Saturday 19  September 2015 to Monday 25 April 2016.

For complete beach safety information visit www.beachsafe.org.au or download Surf Life Saving’s Beachsafe iPhone Application.

You will find all the information you need to keep informed and stay safe while visiting any of the 11,726 beaches on the Australian Coast.

Surf safety tips

  • Always swim or surf at patrolled beaches
  • Swim between the red and yellow flags. They mark the safer area for swimming
  • Never swim, surf or fish alone
  • Read and obey the signs
  • Be aware of rip currents (know how to spot one and how to escape from one)
  • Don't swim under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Never run or dive in the water, even if you have checked before as water conditions can change
  • If in doubt stay out
  • Seek advice from the lifesavers and lifeguards

Please find below the provision of Professional Lifeguard Services for  Byron Shire.

Beach No of Lifeguards Days per week Start Date Finish Date
South Golden Beach 2 7 Wed 21/12/2016

Sun 29/1/2017

Brunswick Heads Main Beach 2 5

Mon 26/9/2016
Wed 21/12/2016
Mon 10/4/2017

Fri 7/10/2016
Fri 27/1/2017
Mon 24/4/2017

First Sun Holiday Park 2 7

Sat 24/9/2016
Wed 21/12/2016
Sat 8/4/2017

Sun 9/10/2016 
Sun 29/1/2017
Tue 25/4/2017

*Byron Bay Main Beach 2 5

Mon 26/9/2016
Wed 21/12/2016
Tue 31/1/2017

Tue 20/12/2016
Mon 30/1/2017
Fri 22/9/2017
The Pass 1 7

Sat 1/10/2016
Wed 21/12/2016
Sat 8/4/2017

Mon 3/10/2016
Sun 29/1/2017
Tue 25/4/2017
Wategos 1 7

Sat 1/10/2016
Wed 21/12/2016
Sat 8/4/2017

Mon 3/10/2016
Sun 29/1/2017
Tue 25/4/2017
Tallow Beach  1 7

Sat 1/10/2016
Wed 21/12/2016
Sat 8/4/2017

Mon 3/10/2016
Sun 29/1/2017
Tue 25/4/2017

Suffolk Park 2 7

Wed 21/12/2016

Sun 29/1/2017
Broken Head Beach 1 7

Thu 21/12/2017

Sun 29/1/2017

An additional roving patrol member will be provided on Byron Bay Main Beach during:

  • NSW Christmas and April School Holidays from 21/12/2016 to 27/1/2017 and from 9/4/2017 to 25/4/2017
  • QLD and NSW “Schoolies” season from 19/11/2016 through 4/12/2016

An additional Service of 2 Lifeguards will be provided for Byron Bay Main Beach on New Year's Eve from 6.00pm through to 2.00am

Note – The Surf Life Saving Volunteers will patrol Brunswick Heads and Byron Main Beaches on Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays during the 2016/2017 Season.

The Pass, Wategos, Broken Head and Tallow Beaches fall under the Management of the Cape Byron Headland Trust.

Clothes optional beaches in Byron Shire