Skip to Navigation

Surf Life Saving Services in Byron Shire

Surf Life Saving Services in Byron Shire

Council in conjunction with Cape Byron Headland Trust and the Australia Life Guard Service provides a beach surf life saving services to specific beaches within Byron Shire Council during the NSW and Queensland School Holidays.

Beach patrols are also provided by Surf Life Saving Volunteers at Brunswick Heads and Byron Bay Main Beach on weekends and Public Holidays from Saturday 19  September 2015 to Monday 25 April 2016.

For complete beach safety information visit www.beachsafe.org.au or download Surf Life Saving’s Beachsafe iPhone Application.

You will find all the information you need to keep informed and stay safe while visiting any of the 11,726 beaches on the Australian Coast.

Surf safety tips

  • Always swim or surf at patrolled beaches
  • Swim between the red and yellow flags. They mark the safer area for swimming
  • Never swim, surf or fish alone
  • Read and obey the signs
  • Be aware of rip currents (know how to spot one and how to escape from one)
  • Don't swim under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Never run or dive in the water, even if you have checked before as water conditions can change
  • If in doubt stay out
  • Seek advice from the lifesavers and lifeguards

Please find below the provision of Professional Lifeguard Services for  Byron Shire.

Beach No of Lifeguards Days per week Start Date Finish Date
South Golden Beach 2 7 Thur 17/12/2015

Thur 28/1/2016

Brunswick Heads Main Beach 2 5

Thur 17/12/2015
Mon 11/4/2016
Mon 21/09/2016

Thurs 28/1/2016
Wed 27/4/2016
Fri 3/10/2016

First Sun Holiday Park 2 7

Thur 17/12/2015
Mon 11/4/2016
Mon 21/09/2016

Thurs 28/1/2016 
Wed 27/4/2016
Fri 3/10/2016

*Byron Bay Main Beach 2 5 Wed 01/07/2015 Fri 30/6/2016
The Pass 1 7 Sat 19/12/2015
Fri 25/3/2016
Sat 3/10/2016

Mon 26/01/2016
Mon 28/03/2016
Mon 05/10/2016

Wategos 1 7

Sat 19/12/2015
Fri 25/3/2016
Sat 3/10/2016

Tues 26/1/2016
Mon 28/3/2016
Mon 5/10/2016

Tallow Beach  1 7

Sat 19/12/2015
Fri 25/3/2016
Sat 3/10/2016

Tues 26/1/2016
Mon 28/3/2016
Mon 5/10/2016

Suffolk Park 2 7 Thur 17/12/2015 Thur 28/1/2016
Broken Head Beach 1 7 Sat 19/12/2015 Tue 26/01/2016

Note – The Surf Life Saving Volunteers will patrol Brunswick Heads and Byron Main Beaches on Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays during the 2015/2016 Season.

The Pass, Wategos, Broken Head and Tallow Beaches fall under the Management of the Cape Byron Headland Trust.

*An additional roving patrol member will be provided on Byron Bay Main Beach during the:

  • NSW Christmas and April School Holidays from 17/12/2015 to 27/1/2016 and from 11/4/2016 to 25/4/2016

and during the

  • QLD and NSW “Schoolies” season from 16/11/2015 through 4/12/2015

*An additional Service of 2 Lifeguards will be provided for Byron Bay Main Beach on New Year's Eve from 6.00pm through to 2.00am

Clothes optional beaches in Byron Shire