Skip to Navigation

Identifying the owner of the land

Identify who owns or controls the land - including, but not limited to the following:

  • National Parks and Wildlife Service - Broken Head Nature Reserve, Brunswick Nature Reserve, Arakwal National Park and Tyagarah Nature Reserve.
  • Marine Parks - beaches below high tide mean water level
  • Cape Byron Trust - Cape Byron Lighthouse Precinct, Wategos Beach, Little Wategos Beach, The Pass, Cosy Corner, Cape Byron Headland
  • Council - Council controlled roads, reserves and parks (where Council is the Reserve Trust Manager) and other operational or community land. Council owned caravan parks – First Sun and Suffolk Park.
  • Department of Land and Water Conservation - various parks, Caravan Parks and various other reserves
  • Private owners
  • Roads - most roads in the Byron Shire are controlled by Council, except the Pacific Highway and Pacific Motorway which is controlled by the NSW Roads and Traffic Authority and some minor roads controlled by the NSW Department of Lands.