Skip to Navigation

Community Summer Safety and Cultural Activities Committee

Date commenced: 
27 May 2013
Date disbanded: 
31 January 2014


The purpose of the Community Summer Safety and Cultural Activities Committee is to facilitate the formulation of a safety focused New Year's Eve strategy and summer holiday period based on community inclusive cultural activities and events in the Byron Shire, and in line with Council’s recently adopted Safer Communities Compact.

The Committee will initially focus on Byron Bay as this is where the large majority of alcohol related incidents and events occur in the Shire.

The objectives were confirmed by Council on 18 April 2013.



Invited representatives

  • Greg Jago (NSW Police)
  • Hannah Spalding (Byron Bay Liquor Accord)
  • Di Mahoney (Byron Youth Service)
  • John Gudgeon (VIA Byron / Byron Visitor Centre)
  • Paul Spooner (Byron Bay Community Association)
  • James Robinson-Gale (Backpackers group / Holiday Let Organisation)
  • Paul Waters (Byron United)
  • Peter Wood (Arts Northern Rivers)
  • Yvonne Stewart/Gavin Brown (Bundjalung of Byron Bay (Arakwal) Corporation)
  • Phoebe Lines (Byron Youth Council)

Community representatives

  • Georgia Coffen
  • Caroline Desmond
  • Baden Offord
  • Rory O'Halloran

Council staff member

  • Community Policy Officer


Meetings to be held bi-monthly, or as required. 

Historical Committee meetings

Listed here are meetings prior to December 2014. Meetings after December 2014 are available on Meetings of Council.

17 January 2014
Agenda 25.28 KB
Report 29.2 KB
29 November 2013
Agenda 25.18 KB
Report 30.08 KB
8 November 2013
Agenda 25.28 KB
Report 35.72 KB
18 October 2013
Agenda 25.25 KB
Report 23.27 KB
27 September 2013
Agenda 25.16 KB
Report 32.49 KB
30 August 2013
Agenda 37.32 KB
Report 25.38 KB